Daily Prompt: Sweet Sixteen

Daily Prompt: Sweet Sixteen.

At the age of 16 I did not have the slightest idea that I was going to celebrate my 26th birthday in Finland. I did not even think of studying linguistics. I was there, a high school student preparing for entrance exams of Yerevan State Medical University.

I had a journal, I read books, I listened to music and I studied biology and physics day and night. I quoted Alanis Morissette from time to time, “There are certain mistakes that you make when you’re 16 just because you’re ignorant.”

Becoming a medical student was where my plans ended. I did not know where I would head after that. I did not know what it would be like to study medicine and who would be my new friends. And of course I did not have the slightest idea that I was going to leave my home country Armenia, which I hated then, I hated more than I have ever had.

I was 16 when my best friend died. I did not know that I was going to miss her at the happiest moments of my life. I did not know that I was going to think what would become of her if she stayed alive. I did not know that I was never going to have a friend like her again.

But there was one thing I was sure of. I knew that I was going to be single at the age of 26.

via Daily Prompt: Sweet Sixteen.

Leave a comment

Filed under Daily Post

Leave a Reply

